Whirlwind

DSCF2911DSCN0092Ciao tutti! Non preoccuparvi, sono viva! Mi dispiace che non ho scritto per qualche settimane ma forse è una bella cosa perche vuol dire che sto facendo molte cose e sto non restando a casa tutto giorno, vero? Io ho tante cose di scrivere, non ho niente di idea dove a iniziare! Ma, provo il mio migliore a dare una bella descrizione della mia bellissima vita qui in Italia. 🙂

Hey everyone! Don’t worry, I’m alive! I’m sorry I have not written for a few weeks but hey, maybe it’s a good thing because it means I’m doing a lot of things and I’m not staying at home all day, right? I have so many things to write, I have no idea where to start, but I’ll try my best to give a good description of my beautiful life here in Italy. 🙂

Alright. So. The last time I wrote I had just reached my two-month anniversary here and now I am quickly approaching the three-month mark, which is slightly frightening. I just cannot believe everything I have done, seen, and learned already. I am so appreciative for everything I have been given so far and for everything I will experience in the coming months. Maybe I’ve said this before and maybe it’s cheesy but exchange is the best thing that ever happened to me. Sometimes I just shake my head and think, “Is this really my life?” and I just feel so grateful and thankful.

So the day after I wrote my class went to Padova! Padova (Padua) is close to Venice and is known for its’ artistic history. We visited two famous churches and we all had to present little blurbs about what we were seeing so I presented in English which ended up being a hit! My highlight, however, was definitely seeing  one of the world’s most famous chapels, la Cappella degli Scrovegni. Walking into a place I’ve seen in movies (and didn’t even know was in Padua), full of so much history, just completely took my breath away. It’s a moment I hope I’ll remember forever.

That weekend we had an art show in a nearby town in which my sculpting class presented tapestries we had made for little kids in a gallery-setting. It was a very cool experience! The next week I met my host sister in Milan one night after my lesson and we waited in an absolutely insane crowd of screaming girls for hours until finally we were let in and got to see Mika! If you don’t recognize that name, maybe the song “Grace Kelly” rings a bell? He’s a judge on X Factor here even though he’s not Italian and therefore he’s super famous. He’s super tall too! That Friday there was a huge student protest so I didn’t end up going to school and had a nice day together with my host mom and sister. The next weekend I met up with the other students in Milan for a day on the town and it was really nice to get everybody together for the day. This past Saturday, after school, I went to Milan with my host mom and sister to another Mika meet-and-greet and after, did some shopping- it was a lovely day, although Italy is getting a bit cold now! Sunday our district took us to Cremona for  the Festa Del Torrone, which is a very famous festival in Italy. Torrone is Italian for nughet, which is basically almonds, honey, and other things which stick it all together. I think I liked it but it was a bit of an overload! It was really nice to be able to explore the city though. Cremona is a beautiful place. We ate lunch in a beautiful Palazzo which just shows how much culture is dripping from every wall of this country! Then on Tuesday (yesterday) a good friend of mine came to visit so we gave her and some other friends a tour of Milan. It was definitely a full day but nonetheless a great one!

So obviously it’s been a very full few weeks and I hope I can post more often but I doubt it. This weekend is full of plans, as is the next, and the next, and the next, and the next, and then it’s January! WHERE IS THE TIME GOING. Sometimes I just need to stop and take a breath. So, today’s message comes from the wise Ferris Bueller, “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.”

Wishing everyone well, wherever you are!

Ciao

L

Leave a Reply

