I’m still here!

Hello all! I’m sorry I’ve been a bit nonexistent in the last month and a half; Honestly, I thought it had been one or two weeks since I last wrote and I suddenly look at the calendar and, poof, it’s February 26. 

Let’s just take that in for a minute. 

February 26. 

First of all, what. Second of all, how. I don’t understand this. There is no way in the world almost six months have already passed. However, when I have moments of complete mindblowing today’s-date-realization it brings into perspective the amount I’ve done and seen and learned and grown here. I feel like if I compare that to how long I’ve been here, that’s when the amount of time seems really small and my mind gets blown on a whole different level. Exchange has taught me so many things and given me the opportunity to see things I never thought I would have the opportunity of seeing. In two days I’ll be going to Venice to witness the majestic and world-famous Carnevale. That’s ridiculous. Every moment instills in me a gratefulness for life and living every day which I feel you can only learn when time is slipping away from you and you’re racing to catch up. I’ve learned to live more, smile more, love more, explore more, be who I really am, and that if I let it all go and stop thinking and just breathe and feel the air on my face, that’s the moment they all talk about. And I can do that every moment of  every day if I want. And when I get back to Canada and I look back on this crazy whirlwind dream of a year I had, I won’t wish I made more of it. So that’s what I’m doing. And that’s exactly why I’ve been skipping out on this blog; I’ve been so busy doing all the things I’ve been wanting to do! The only days I seem to have a moment to sit down are the ones when I’m down and out with whatever virus is going around, and today happens to be one of those. I’m glad I finally am sitting down to write though because it feels good to update you all. If you’re one of the ones who comes on every so often to check if I’ve updated and constantly sees the same post, I apologize, Laura’s living in her own little dreamland. But rest assured, she’s not wasting a day. 🙂

Anyways, WHERE DID WE LEAVE OFF. I believe I had just switched families and was adjusting to life with a new house, family, and fridge organization system (obviously the most important). Surprisingly, adjusting took almost no time at all. I’ve got just about a month and a half more with this amazing gift of a host family and then I’m onto phase 3, the shortest and last phase of my exchange. School is going swimmingly as usual, my friends are absolutely amazing (both those in rotary and those at school), the language is really coming along and I find myself falling more and more in love with my city as time goes on. The question of whether this place is “home” or “my current city” is not a question anymore; I now have two homes, three families, and two countries into which my heart is divided. I also now have pasta connections.That’s a beautiful thing.

In two weeks I will hit the 6-month mark. I really don’t know how I feel about that. I prefer not to dwell on it too much, though it does creep into the back of my mind a few times a day. 6 months means I have just about 3 and a half months left, which is incredibly difficult to comprehend. This point is the point of my exchange when I start to go on all the trips I’ve been planning, so I can’t wait for all the adventures awaiting me. I have been given some amazing travel opportunities such as going to Budapest, Hungary, in the spring, which is definitely something I never in a million years thought I would have the opportunity to do. I absolutely cannot wait. I will also be going to Venice (on Saturday!), Verona, Cremona, Florence, and Rome, so these next few months will be full of amazing memories. I am so excited to see what they bring me. 

Honestly, just like January, February was a blur. I got to see a lot of my friends, was busy all the time, did a cooking course, made macarons, signed up for horseback riding lessons, and traveled to Como. Couldn’t be luckier for all the fantastic surprises I’ve had since I’ve been here and I’m so grateful for every one of them. 

That’s the end of this post, but you can rest assured the next one will exist. I’m not sure exactly when, but it will, I promise. I told you; I got things to do. Until next time, get out there and seize the day. You never know what you’ll find, whether it be inside of you or outside on the street. I’ve gotta go, there’s a cake waiting for me. 

Ciao ciao, 

L

Leave a Reply

